cover1
And there I was.  Back at the fork in the road, with the same, familiar deadening choice. How long will this cycle go on? I asked myself. I must choose a path. I told myself.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveller, long I stood

And looked down one as far as I could

To where it bent in the undergrowth

Wrote Robert Frost in his poem “The Road Not Taken” and summed up the dilemma that we all face in life every now and then: Whether to follow our innocent heart OR the witty brain?

The less travelled path is the path of passion, intuition, acceptance and valuing what I really care about. Down the road is vulnerability and risk, but it seems worth the trouble.

The other road is my old path of control and undesired force– the one based on the Greedy Algorithm.  It is logical, reasonable and sensible. I have been down this path, over and over and over again and at least I’ve always survived before. By now its results are extremely predictable, which in turn makes it safer. But, sooner or later, I am right back to where I started, except now I am weakened. Life is becoming a task in itself. More time has gone by, and sometimes I feel it’s not my life at all. Haven’t I had enough of this path?

I better distract my mind off these thoughts, I am going insane again. Or had I been? I tried resisting myself yet again! The hardest battle you’ll ever fight is the one against yourself. You win when you lose. It’s all a part of the game we call life. After a little fight between my shoulder angel and devil, this is what I came up with…

“If you do what you love, you’ll never work a day in your life”, said Marc Anthony.

According to dictionary,

Work /wəːk/

Verb:  be engaged in physical or mental activity requiring effort in order to achieve a result.

But wait, how can this be true? Does this mean I won’t have to put any effort while doing the job I love? Will things fall into place if I just sit back and relax?

“Do what you love and success will follow” is another famous saying.

According to dictionary,

Success /səkˈsɛs/

Noun: A person or thing that achieves desired aims or attains fame, wealth or social status.

Does this mean once I find my passion then, everything will turn into a fairytale?

But, if this path leads to an effortless fairly land then, why is it so less travelled by? Why do people unnecessarily push themselves past their feelings and work their ass off to improve their skills over time to achieve desired goals? Is a stable job and preset financial bar, a prerequisite to have a fulfilled happy life? If yes, then who sets these benchmarks?

 3.1

“I think careers are a 20th century invention and I don’t want one.” – Into the Wild (Movie)

Here’s the truth: Problems are inevitable – whether you love your job or you hate it. If you love your job, then you won’t give up at the time of difficulties. You will leave no stone unturned to tackle the issue and in the process, may lose the track of time. Now this might be considered as “going insane”, by someone who works for the digits. For this group, once the water crosses the bridge and problems appear insurmountable, they quit.

So, if you follow your passion and do what you love, then, you will find joy in making the extra efforts even while doing things outside of your comfort zone. Why? Because, Kesha was right, love is a drug. Love is indeed going crazy and doing insane things, which a rational mind would consider a waste of effort, energy and time.

And in the end, this is what makes all the difference! I have chosen my path, have you?

